Wanted to dabble in more of a romance genre. Any feedback? | Forums | Teen Ink

Writers' Workshop Forums

Wanted to dabble in more of a romance genre. Any feedback?

TheHatter3-14 posted this thread...
on Jun. 30 at 1:06 pm

I recently wanted to step out of my comfort zone and try to write romance. I have really been struggling with interactions between the guy and girl as well as certain descriptors. Another thing I have been worried about are stereotypes. I really don't want to make a character that seems offensive or too stereotypical.

"No," I whisper as his mouth pulls from mine. Now on our knees, my empty kitchen rises up around us.

"Wait" he mutters when I straighten up to grasp his face. I feel like a sad puppy being told that I cannot have any more treats. "What are we doing?" He could not have crushed my confidence any harder.

"Kissing? I mean I am no expert but that's what I thought it was." A small laugh breaks through his lips and my confidence is restored.

"No, I mean… well, we haven't had more than maybe 3 conversations and all the sudden we are thrown into a chem project together. Trust me this isn't what I had in mind when I thought chemistry project." Oh no.

"If this is too much or soon or if you are into someone else or anything I can go away and forget this ever happened. If that's what you want." My heart cracks at the words but when I try to get up he stops me.

"No, that's not what I want at all. In fact, I want you. That's all I have been able to want since I met you. But I feel like I hardly know you Sam. And I hate that." I feel like I have been shot through with an arrow. Cupid's arrow. And I must look it too because his sincere look turns to one of concern.

"I… you… what?" This makes his devilish smirk return and I know I can't let him have the satisfaction of rendering me speechless. “No, I mean I don’t understand. You went on a date with Jess, you guys seemed happy? What happened?”